Dateline: Friday 3rd, May, 2013

It turned out to be a Black Friday for Tento Mushi RFC when they were on the end of a storming performance by the Tokyo Gaijin RFC. The Gaijin managed to rack up a record 117 v 0 win on this public holiday Friday out at Inagi Stadium.

In a stand-out performance fullback Sam Deroeck demonstrated his trademark explosive running from the back, consistently getting the Gaijin over the advantage line with blistering charges through the mid-field and scoring a brace of runaway tries. He was almost unstoppable to bring down, making huge metres with his slicing runs.

The Gaijin defended stoically, with their forwards consistently disrupting opposition ball at the breakdown. Lock Nik Pavesic provided some elusive running and proved hard to bring down. Takashi Tanikawa and Shinichiro Nakayama also had a number of effective carries and were constantly probing around the ruck.

Gorka Gerediaga, and props Tomohiro Setoguchi and Tsunaki Tanaka were strong in a dominant Gaijin scrum and provided some damaging running and effective breakdown work.

Junpei Shirakawa added more real attacking spark when he came off the bench at halftime.

Deroeck and Nik Pavesic scored a brace of tries, Takashi Tanikawa got a double, and even birthday boy Mosese Rarasea got a try to add to his birthday celebrations. He had blown his first attempt when he knocked on with the line wide open but was gifted one soon after by Gareth Palmer who scored one himself later on. Gorka Gerediaga also got his first try for the Gaijin club (apart from his try at the  Manila 10's).

Overall, it was a show of excellent running rugby from the Gaijin but they also defended superbly to keep the Tento Mushi side to zero points.

It was probably not the strongest Tento Mushi team as they more than likely had some people unavailable because of the long weekend but the Gaijin were also missing some regular starters.

(Note: The score sheet was lost, hence an accurate scorers list is not available)

SCORE: TGRFC 117 (19 tries, 11/19 conversions) Tento Mushi 0

Man of the Match: Takashi Tanikawa


1. Natsu Kunitomo (Japan)

2. Tomohiro Setoguchi (Japan)

3. Tsunaki 'Don' Tanaka (Japan)

4. Nick Pavesic (Croatia)

5. Gorka Gerediaga (Basque)

6. Gareth Palmer (Wales)

7. Shinichiro Nakayama (Japan)

8. Takashi Tanikawa (Japan)

9. Tatsuma Mutou (Japan)

10. Hitoshi Chihara (Japan)

11. Yoshiihiro Sato (Japan)

12. Mosese Rarasea (Fiji)

13. Touch Roy (Australia)

14. Bryan O'Brien (USA)

15. Sam Deroeck (England)

Reserves used: Tsukasa Takasugi (Japan), Takeshi Koba (Japan), Kosuke Yamamoto (Japan), Gorka Gerediaga (Basque), Jo Iwasaki (Japan), Junpei Shirakawa (Japan), Ryogo Takemura (Japan), Yamagen (Japan)