Gaijin go wild against Turkeys
April 18, 2017
Kurumi End Gaijin’s Cup Campaign
June 8, 2017
Show all

Koryo Too Hot For Gaijin

Tokyo Cup Round 2
Opposition: Koryo RFC
Final Score: 7-53
Date: 30th April 2017
Venue: Edogawa Rinkai Ball Park
Kick Off: 15:30
Man of the Match: Liam Ramshaw

1. Tommy Nasuno
2. Tomo Setoguchi (C)
3. Tsunaki ‘Donny’ Tanaka
4. John SImpson
5. Gorka Gerediaga (VC)
6. Shimpei Yamaguchi
7. Liam Ramshaw
8. Takashi Tanikawa
9. Sota Kaneko
10. Paddy Watson
11. Daisuke Ikegami
12. Alex Auld (VC)
13. Travis Drury
14. Tomoaki Kato
15. Youhei Iwamizu
16. Kosuke Yamamoto
17. Roy Tachi
18. Win Irham
19. Frederick Moellers
20. Toma Ballan
21. Taku Eguchi
22. Joshua Bateman
23. Hitoshi Chihara

Yoshihiro Sato, Joffa Harris, Paul Bertier,  Natsuhiko Kunimoto and Yachila Rasanjana.

The sun was full out and blazing as the Gaijin geared up to play the second round of the Tokyo Cup. After a successful first round the team was looking to build momentum going up against Koryo RFC. Conditions were going to be tricky as the temperature was climbing up to 35 degrees and the presence of a high down field wind.

After a slow start to the match with some big hits and strong defence from both sides Koryo opened up the scoring by running a 1-3 cut off their fly half to score under the posts.

The Gaijin boys pulled up their socks to hit back with a try by Liam Ramshaw that was right under the posts after a rolling maul shattered the forward pack in a powerful display.
The try was quickly converted by Paddy Watson for a swift 7 points.

With heads held high the Gaijin managed to hold on for a few more minutes before half time but conceded 2 quick tries right before the whistle to the sizable Koryo midfield. Halftime score 18 – 7

Second half was all Koryo, utilizing the strong wind to keep the Gaijin in their 22 for what seemed to be the remainder of the game. From here on out with the heat pummeling down Koryo’s fitness outshined the gaijin and they started to roll in try after try to take home the W 53 – 7


Tries: Liam Ramshaw (1);

Comments are closed.