Koryo Too Hot For Gaijin
May 28, 2017
Shuto 10’s 2017
July 7, 2017
Show all

Kurumi End Gaijin’s Cup Campaign

Tokyo Cup Round 3
Opposition: Kurumi RFC
Final Score: 7-53
Date: 30th April 2017
Venue: Edogawa Rinkai Ball Park
Kick Off: 15:30
Man of the Match: Travis Drury

We come into this game having to win if we want to qualify for the quarter finals of the Tokyo Cup. However, it was not meant to be, as we lost emphatically to a strong Kurumi side.  Like the last game against Koryo, our defence could not withstand the pace and power from their teamwork. The Kurumi backs dominated field position by utilizing the high wind and fast turf of the elevated Inagi pitch, turning the heavy Gaijin defence to recover the high ball on 80% of attacks.

The game started like many Gaijin games where we started slow and still needed to wake up.  With our lack of defense and positive energy, Kurumi were able to capitalize and score several tries.  

However, not all was bad and there were several things we got out of the game. Our attacking intent was strong, which led to three tries from Tomohiro Setoguchi, Alexander Auld and Tommy Nasuno.  The forwards put in a lot of hard work and won most set-pieces, through our strength and errors made by the opposition.  The kicking form of Paddy Watson, didn’t let those efforts go to waste with 100% conversion rate. 

Unfortunately though, that was not enough as we were beat by a better team.  There is much to learn for all of us as a team, both on and off the pitch.  

With that in mind, I hope everyone on the team will keep their heads up and train even harder through the summer in preparation for the upcoming Shuto League campaign.  There will be plenty of opportunities for us to reinforce our team in all aspects, whether it be Sugadaira, Vietnam, or skirmish with local teams.  I look forward to seeing how the team will grow to challenge the league title.

1. Tommy Nasuno
2. Tomo Setoguchi (C)
3. Tsunaki ‘Donny’ Tanaka
4. Gorka Gerediaga (VC)
5. John SImpson
6. Joffa Harris
7. Yuta Oba
8. Takashi Tanikawa
9. Tomoaki Katoon
10. Paddy Watson
11. Toma Ballan
12. Alex Auld (VC)
13. Daisuke Ikegami
14. Taku Eguchi
15. Travis Drury
16. Kosuke Yamamoto
17. Natsuhiko Kunimoto
18. Frederick Moellers
19. Baz Lobendarn
20. Yachilla Rasanjana
21. Ryo Takahashi
22. David Kelver
23. Yoshihiro Sato

Tomohiro Setoguchi 1, Alexander Auld 1, Tomofuni Nasuno 1.
Paddy Watson 3.

Comments are closed.